Skip to main content

How to live on a 30-euro budget a week.

by Wittenborg News -
Number of replies: 0

Many students find themselves in tricky situations and creating a budget is not as easy as it looks. Being on your own, you start to question: How did my parents do it, and how are other students managing? Sooner or later you will realise that instant noodles and baked beans are not just a myth. You will end up eating these every day or you will find comfort food which suits your taste.  On the bright side, ramen noodles come in many flavors and you have a big variety to choose from. It is inevitable, the shift from hotel mama to living alone and to paying your own bills is hard! Whether you are deciding between a night out or early to bed, the decision depends on your budget and what compromises you are ready to take.
I have been a student for three years and have by now found a way to manage my budget. Here are some tips which helped me get by:

Groceries

I remember the first time I did my own groceries I ended up paying $150. My mistake was that we tend to overestimate the amount we are going to eat and that it can be exciting when you are surrounded with all the fruit and chips you want. It’s like being a kid in a candy store. My advice here is to have meal plans. I myself like to check BuzzFeed tasty for meal ideas or brothers green, who offer delicious dinner ideas for those of us on the low end of the budget. When you have that checklist it becomes easier, this way you only buy what you need. If you are like me and you are sometimes too lazy to cook, your freezer with delicious frozen pizza from Dr.Oetker or delicious dumplings from the oriental shop are the second best options.
If you shop at Albert Hejn, get yourself a bonus card, you can save up to $5 ;)

Night out