Skip to main content

How to cram a seminar paper in less than 24 hours.

by Wittenborg News -
Number of replies: 0

https://www.wittenborg.eu/how-cram-seminar-paper-less-24-hours.htm

Writing papers with tight deadlines is part of every student's life. We all know the myth of student laziness and we can argue if it is true or if it is just something the world around us wants to believe. I am starting to believe that as students we only like to operate when under pressure. In all honesty, if a paper is due in a month, we will for sure write it a day or two prior to the deadline. The adrenaline rush we get from cramming the paper into a 24 hours' time window or less is what made us master procrastinators.

As a student myself I can ensure you that this is a bad idea and living this way will impact your grades. Instead of an A+ you are more likely to get high blood pressure because of the stress. However, here are my tips for you if you are just like me and leave things to the last minute.

Understand the topic

In complex times like these, where time is limited and anxiety levels are at the highest, you are going to feel like jumping right into writing. Do not do it. Abort mission. If you are leaving the seminar paper to the very last minute, ensure, that you have at least a day to finalise it. To understand the topic you must invest time researching the topic, reading journals or scrolling through Instagram; you can spend at least an hour to get a basic understanding of what you are going to write about. Once that is done, write a statement of your paper, a kind of abstract to summarise the key message.

Create a layout